A fast spreading virus aka Rwandadeyoze

Posted on June 17, 2011

3


Well, let me tell you what that word means and who I got it from.

Do you remember that we, Rwandans like to Rwandanize the world …and words?Rwandadeyoze is our last addition.

Since we left Chicago (after Rwanda Day), it seems like people cannot sleep at decent hours anymore.  At least my friends who attended R-Day.

Since Sunday, we have been talking late at night … This is of course because of theRwanda Day’s adrenaline.

Today, Tuesday around 8pm (central time in US) and around 3am (Geneva time) I was chatting with my friend Jeanine (Aka Angelina) who couldn’t sleep. She was asking me to send her the youtube link of H.E. Paul Kagame’s speech (THE SPEECH).

I kindly suggested: shouldn’t you be sleeping?

She responded “ Narembye!”  (Meaning “I am dying of some kind of serious illness”)

Nti  “ese warembejwe n’iki?” (Meaning “what are you suffering from?”)

She replied, “well, I guess it’s Rwandadeyose!” Which some may call R-Day HIGH (Drug free please!)?

Nti “ Kagire inkuru! Nawe se? (Meaning « Oh Gosh you too») It’s hitting me badly but couldn’t put a name on it!”

Well, as far as medicine goes there is neither vaccination nor pills to cure it! Antibodies remain in your blood and no doctor on earth can help you get rid of it!

In fact this virus acts like a vaccine, it immunizes you against stupidity plus it boosts your self-esteem (or Agaciro) and acts as an antidote to the rampant afro-pessimism. Warning: This is a fast spreading virus.

In Kinyarwanda there is a say “Yaje nk’iya Gatera”!

My friends, the good news is that one won’t die because of it, only one gets better and better!

Kutahaba weee…

Urumenesha & Jeanine

Posted in: CHICAGO